I Just Enrolled at a New School


The past few months I’ve been attending Automobile University. Noted motivational speaker Zig Ziglar coined the term to describe the process of learning while commuting. I encountered the idea while reading a book called Twice as Much in Half the Time ( this is a small book from Simple Truths, they have excellent little short books) by Amy Jones. Jones states:

“simply put, one attends automobile university by listening to education materials while riding the car. A study at USC has shown that if a person drives at least 12,000 miles a year ( as likely someone would in any metropolitan city) and uses this method of education, in a matter of three years he or she would have the equivalent of two years of college education”.

I have always loved audio programs like the StrengthCoach Podcast but, have just recently begun to purchase audio books. Audio books allow me to “read” in the car. I read  (I guess listened is the real term), Born to Run this way recently and am just finishing The End of Overeating. Audiobooks are more expensive but, actually they save time and money because they allow me to use my down time better. I also listened to The Power of Less and Swim with the Sharks. Take this tip. Enroll in Automobile U.

10 Responses to “I Just Enrolled at a New School”

  1. […] End of Overeating One of the many new subjects I’m studying at my new school Automobile University is nutrition. I just finished listening to The End of Overeating-Taking Control of the Insatiable […]

  2. […] wrap up here is a quote I borrowed from Mike Boyle’s post about listening to audio books during your […]

Comments are closed.